Australia to replace Russia in BJK Cup

Products You May Like

Australia have earned a Billie Jean King Cup promotion following the International Tennis Federation’s decision to ban last year’s winners Russia from teams competitions.

As the highest-ranked team among the 2021 losing semi-finalists, Australia will take Russia’s place in the Finals scheduled to be held in November.

After advancing from the group stage in Prague last year, Australia bowed out following losses in both singles rubbers in their semi against Switzerland.

Australia were due to compete in a Cup qualifier against Slovakia next month but the tie has been called off.

Slovakia will receive a bye and also advance directly to the Finals, as will Belgium who were scheduled to play Belarus.

Australia, Slovakia and Belgium will join 2021 runners-up Switzerland at the 2022 Finals alongside the winning nations from the remaining seven qualifiers in April.

A host nation hasn’t been decided.

Russia were banned from defending their Davis Cup and Billie Jean King Cup titles following a February 24 invasion of Ukraine.

Belarus, a key staging area for the invasion, which Russia says is a “special operation”, have also been banned from the international team competitions.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

Alles wat je moet weten over het Barcelona Open 2023
Andy Murray werkt aan herstel van enkelbandletsel
Novak Djokovic starts sterk aan het gravel seizoen in Monte Carlo Masters
Frans succes at FIP Rise Nola toernooi in Italië
Spanning stijgt voor de Queen’s Club Kampioenschappen 2024

Geef een reactie